Posted on

CAM00657

CAM00650

CAM00644

CAM00648

CAM00647

CAM00646

CAM00645

CAM00652

CAM00653

CAM00654

CAM00655

CAM00651

Phenakistoscope

Foundations Class

I chose to use objects in my dorm for the subjects for phenakistoscope. Since the main animation had to be a object moving I had I figured that the other animations would be similar. Furthermore, I chose the key since it is something that I use all the time. It was also the first thing that I thought out when I first started to work on the project.

I applied design elements and principals for the phenakistoscope. Whenever the line was opposed from the main light source, I made that line thicker. The side of the drawings that were pointed towards the light where thinner. This helped to show that there was line variation. Furthermore, there was a contrast in the project. Since I had to ink the who thing, I made sure that some areas were black while others were white.

In the project, I applied several principals of animation to the phenakistoscope. I wanted the project involved me animating an object. I chose to animate a key. For the key to look good I decided to use some information from my computer animation II class. When an animation is falling it moves slow at first. It then speeds up when the object drops to the floor. This helped to make the movement of the animation more realistic. Furthermore, I sketched several poses of the entire animation. This is an animation technique called pose to pose. It’s good to do this to see the entire animation.

Leave a Reply

