Posted on

Typographic Abstract Composition

Intro to Visual Communication

Photoshop

2560×1920 pixels

10/02/13

Assignment: Explore sensory boundaries expanding your creativity. Create depth drawing words to interpret a poem, song, or sentence.

I chose to explore the sensory boundaries that expand my creativity. In order to do this, I revolved my entire project around earth. The textures I applied to the opened composition are made to resemble stones and other objects that are related to earth elements.

I made sure to have depth in my drawing to help me interpret the title of a song I enjoy. I had the letters overlap each other as they stretch back into the background. This happened to make sure that the words were three dimensional. I wanted there to be a sense of space in the art piece. That is another reason I added one point perspective to the drawing. Furthermore, In the back of the piece, I added smaller versions of ‘at nite’ that fade out, which creates an atmospheric perspective. All the letters are 3D dimensional and have shadows.
The design process of the project relates to the reading I did. I had to think about the relationships of the letters and make sure that they decreased in size. I thought about color and how it conveys feelings and messages, which was apart of the reading. Furthermore, everything in the piece is an analogous color of green.
The words were inspired by a song by an artist named Kid Cudi. I enjoy his music and felt that my love for him could help me finish the project.

Leave a Reply

